Creamed Spinach with Roasted Cipollini Onions and Toasted Bread Crumbs

11 Aug

20130811-030600.jpg

20130811-042712.jpg

Creamed Spinach with Roasted Cipollini Onions and Toasted Bread Crumbs

Serves: 4
Adapted from Tyler Florence

INGREDIENTS:

• 1 1/2 pounds cipollini onions
• Extra-virgin olive oil
• 1 cup balsamic vinegar
• 1/2 cup honey
• 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
• 1 onion, minced
• 2 garlic cloves, minced
• 2 lbs fresh spinach, stemmed and washed
• 1 cup heavy cream
• 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
• Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
• 1 cups panko breadcrumbs
• 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS:

1. Place the unpeeled cipollini onions in a bowl and cover with very hot water. Set aside for 15 minutes to soften the skins. Drain the onions, then peel and pat dry.

2. Heat a large skillet over high heat and add 2 Tbsp of oil. Add the onions and saute until they are golden brown. Roughly 10 minutes.

3. Add the vinegar and honey. Then reduce the heat to medium, and cook until the mixture has reduced to a syrup and the onions are soft, about 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 400° F.

4. Heat a large pot over medium heat. Drizzle with 2 Tbsp of oil, add the butter, and stir it around until it melts.

5. Next, add the onions and garlic and saute for about 5 minutes, or until soft.

6. Add the spinach in batches, pushing it down into the pan to help it wilt. Add more spinach as soon as there is room in the pot. Cook the spinach until it’s dry. Reduce the heat and add the cream and nutmeg. Stir and cook for 10 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

7. Pour the creamed spinach into a baking dish and top it off with the onions, panko and the Parmesan cheese. Bake until the breadcrumbs are golden brown…15 minutes. Serve hot.

20130811-042338.jpg
This dish was super delish! I think next time I’ll be making it vegan instead. I realize now that I can no longer tolerate dairy in my diet. I had too much ice cream last night and now I’m paying the price. My body hurts so bad. I’ve never experienced this before. I couldn’t figure out why I was in so much pain this morning. Then I had more ice cream again tonight. A couple hours later and the pain has returned. My feet, legs and back ache so bad. I feel like I need a nice hot bath and massage. I should really be going to bed, but the pain is too much. Instead, I am writing this blog post, laying in bed, trying to get my mind off of this horrible debacle. Lesson learned…NO DAIRY EVER AGAIN!!!

Leave a comment