Guacamole Spinach Soup

28 Jun

20130208-055308.jpg

Soup, soup, soup; its time for more soup! It sure has been getting nice here in Vegas. The last couple of days it’s been in the 70’s. Either way, I felt like making a nice little batch of soup. I had a bunch of guacamole that I made a day or two ago. I decided to convert it into something else. I think I had about 1 1/2 cups of the guacamole left over. I basically put everything into the blender, added a few spices and heated it all up. It was very simple. Took maybe ten minutes. The spinach made the soup nice and thick and I added a bit of coconut milk for creaminess.

20130208-060036.jpg

20130208-055827.jpg

Guacamole Spinach Soup

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

• 1 Tbsp olive oil
• 1/2 red pepper
• 1/2 green pepper
• 2 garlic cloves, minced
• 1 large avocado or 2 small
• 1/4 red onion
• 1 lime
• Huge handful of spinach
• 2 tsp cumin
• 1/2 tsp chili powder
• 1/8- 1/4 tsp cayenne
• 2 Tbsp coconut milk
• 1 cup vegetable broth
• salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Saute the peppers and garlic in the olive oil for about 5 minutes. Next, add the spices and cook until fragrant; about 2 min.
  • Now, put everything into your blender and puree. Once that is done you put everything into a sauce pot and heat up the soup. This shouldn’t take that long on medium heat.
  • Garnish with diced green onions, diced tomatoes, croutons and a fresh squeeze of lime juice.
  • 20130208-054950.jpg.

    Leave a comment