Hummus

11 Dec

20121211-193359.jpg

I’ve grown up eating hummus since I can remember. It’s so delicious. My Mom always made this recipe. I tend to like it more then store bought hummus. It’s very simple and easy to make. I tend to cut this recipe in half, since I’m the only one eating it. It lasts me a week, if I have one serving a day. I like to put it on a sandwich daily, after my morning yoga. I don’t really like breakfast food. I would rather eat leftovers from dinner, the night before, for breakfast.

Anyways, I was visiting my mom the other day and decided to get the official recipe from her. It’s from this cookbook. Now, I am realizing, that it has been too long since Ive been home to Calgary.

20121211-191210.jpg
A Taste of Calgary
Served by Douglas Leighton

Hummus
By Chef Costas Stathakos
Yield:6-8

Ingredients:

• 32 oz can chick peas, drain & retain juice
• 4 garlic cloves, minced
• 3 Tbsp lemon juice
• 2 Tbsp tahini
• 5 Tbsp olive oil
• salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Put the chick peas, garlic, lemon juice and oil into a blender and blend on low speed.

2. Add salt and pepper to taste. Add retained chick pea juice and blend to achieve pudding-like consistency.

3. Serve with pita bread or veggies. (Hummus will keep for a week in the fridge in a sealed container)

Update:

I learned a new trick, for those of you looking to make really smooth hummus. The key is removing the outer skin. It only took me about 15 minutes, after I boiled dried garbanzo beans for 2 hours.

20121211-214919.jpg

Leave a Reply

