Sausage Sandwich with Spicy Mayo

22 Oct

20121022-092610.jpg

Uh!!! Don’t you hate it when your working on something on your computer and you lose all your work? That just happened with this post. I guess I have no other choice, but to begin again. Hopefully, this post will be better, then the one I was working. Here it goes!

Last week, I spent a fair amount of time looking up new recipes for homemade meat substitutes. I started looking up recipes for making seitan. Then, I found myself on Vegan Dads blog. He had an amazing recipe for sausages. I had to make it. The recipe is from Ida Chandra
I got busy whipping them up in my ninja. It wasn’t until they were steaming that I realized I forgot something. That’s right! I forgot the nutritional yeast. I even doubled the recipe. Oh well. They still turned out really good. Next time, I’ll be more careful. It’s not like this is the first time this has happened. My youngest daughter loves to cook and bake with me. She’s pretty much my shadow. The only problem with this is that, she is a talker. I have a hard time concentrating on what I’m doing, when she’s around. I either have to remind her to be quiet or really focus and be aware with what I’m doing. Anybody else have problems like these?

20121014-230621.jpg
Heating the sausages, straight from the freezer.

20121014-230808.jpg
Sautéing the sausages with onions, garlic and mushrooms.

20121014-230936.jpg
Making spicy mayo.

20121014-233920.jpg

Sausage Sandwich

Yield: 2 or so…

Ingredients:

• 2 sausages
• 1 Tbsp olive oil
• 1/2 an onion, diced
• 1 garlic clove, minced
• 4 baby portobello mushrooms
• 1/4 tsp dill
• 1/4-1/2 tsp cumin
• 1/4-1/2 tsp chili powder
• 1 tsp Tapatío
• 1 Tbsp lime juice
• 2 tsp agave
• salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Sauté the sausages in the oil. Mine were frozen. I slightly browned them on all sides. Then, I put them on a cutting board, to cut them up into chunks. Afterwards, I put them back into the sauté pan.

2. Next, add the onion, garlic and mushrooms. Sauté for about 7 more minutes.

3. Now, add the rest of the ingredients.
Cook for about 5 more minutes. The sausages will soak up a lot of the seasoning.

Spicy Mayo

Ingredients:

• 1/3 cup veganase
• 1-3 tsp Tapatío

Directions:

1. Mix veganase and Tapatío together.

20121014-234235.jpg

Now put everything together

Spread the spicy mayo onto both sides of your bread or toast. Top with the sausage mixture and some spinach.

This was really filling for me. I’m not that big though. I could only eat half of the sandwich.

20121014-234500.jpg

I would highly recommend adding half of a green and red pepper to this dish. I would’ve, but I didn’t have any on hand.

Leave a Reply

