Broccoli Cheese Soup

18 Oct

20121014-153435.jpg

It’s time for more delicious soup. It’s cooler outside. It’s rainy and violently windy at times. I’ve been bundling up at night in my hoodie and slippers. I love my comfy clothes. I need to be 100% comfortable in whatever I am wearing. I’ve been going through my clothes and getting rid of all the things I will not wear. Something’s I haven’t worn in years. Why I still have them is a mystery to me. It’s time to clear out the clutter and make room for better days coming my way. Time to step up and move on, meanwhile nourishing my body with this delightful meal.

Broccoli Cheese Soup
Adapted from ohsheglows

20121014-165130.jpg
I started with roasting the butternut squash in the oven.

20121014-165439.jpg
Then, I moved onto the broccoli soup. I processed 1/2 of the broccoli in my ninja. You can do this or just roughly chop the broccoli, depending on what you like.

20121014-171226.jpg
Adding the seasoning to the sautéed garlic and onion.

20121014-165709.jpg
This is right before I added the broth.

20121014-171402.jpg

Broccoli Cheese Soup
Yield: 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

• 1 Tbsp olive oil
• 3 garlic cloves, minced
• 1 red onion, diced
• 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
• 1/2 tsp thyme
• 1/2 tsp rosemary
• 1 tsp sage
• 1 tsp onion salt
• a dash of cayenne
• 4 cups broccoli, chopped
• 2 carrots, chopped
• 3 cups vegetable broth
• 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
• 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
• 1.5 cups butternut squash, roasted and diced
• 1 Tbsp lime juice
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

1. Start by poking a hole in your butternut squash and roasting it on a baking sheet @ 450 for 45-60 minutes.

2. Sauté the onion and garlic in olive oil for 5 minutes in a stock pot.

3. Add the balsamic vinegar, cayenne pepper, onion salt, thyme, rosemary and sage. Cook until fragrant. About 2 minutes.

4. Now add the broccoli, carrots, nutritional yeast, apple cider vinegar and the broth. Boil, then cover and simmer for 20 minutes. At this time you should start making the cheese sauce.

5. Once the butternut squash is done, peel and dice it. Now, add it to the stock pot, along with the salt, pepper and lime juice.

Cheese Sauce

Ingredients:

• 1 garlic clove, minced
• 1 Tbsp earth balance
• 1 1/2 cups almond milk
• 3/4 cup nutritional yeast
• 2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
• 2 Tbsp corn starch
• 1/2 tsp onion salt
• a dash of cayenne

Directions:

1. In a sauce pan on low, cook the garlic with vegan butter and milk. To make a rue.

2. Add the rest of the cheese sauce ingredients. Simmer on low for about 10 minutes. Then take it off of the heat and set aside.

3. Once the broccoli soup mix is done cooking, add the cheese sauce to the stock pot.

4. Adjust seasoning to taste. Serve with some garlic croutons. And enjoy!

20121014-171529.jpg

Leave a Reply

