Vegan Chia Waffles

16 Oct

20121014-221452.jpg

The other morning my sister called. We were chatting for a while and my kids were hungry, begging for breakfast. She had made waffles. I decided to make them too, so we could be twins! They are super easy to make. That is, if you have a good waffle maker. Mine doesn’t work so well, but I made them anyways. They were great. I topped mine off with a mixed berry sauce. Yummy, yummy in my tummy.

20121014-221832.jpg

20121014-221924.jpg
My oldest daughter wouldn’t even touch them! It’s hard to get her to try new things. She’s more apt to try new foods, in the company of her friends, at school. Ava, on the other hand, was all over them. She ate 2 or 3 of them plain, because she liked them so much. She said they had a hint of blueberry flavor. She even thought the chia cheeses were blueberries…. so cute! Now, here’s the recipe for these.
20121014-221744.jpg

Vegan Chia Waffles

Ingredients:

• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 2 tsp baking powder
• 1 Tbsp chia seeds
• 1/2 tsp cinnamon
• 1/4 tsp salt

• 1 cup nondairy milk
• 1/2 cup applesauce
• 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
• 1 Tbsp raw cane sugar

Directions:

1. Mix together the dry ingredients and set aside.

2. Mix together the wet ingredients. Then combine then with the dry mix.

This recipe makes 6 little waffles with a 1/4 cup measuring cup. There are 90 calories per waffle.

20121014-222132.jpg

20121014-222600.jpg

20121014-223050.jpg
I really had fun taking all of these photos. I used camera+ to edit most of them. I love how they all turned out. I do take all of my photos with my iPhone 4. It’s actually, the only camera I own.

Leave a Reply

