Bow tie Creamy Spinach Pasta

6 Oct

20121005-115918.jpg

It’s finally getting a little colder here in Vegas. It was 95 today. It’s suppose to cool down to the mid 80’s next week. It’s a very pretty time of year. Everything is blooming again. It happens so much here. I love it! Anyways, I am foreseeing a lot more soup in the near future. For now, I’ll stick with an easy pasta dish. This is probably one of the less time consuming dishes I’ve posted. I’m excited for the leftovers I will be eating tomorrow. Which reminds me, who here owns a microwave? We haven’t had one in our house for 2 years. I love it. I never want to own one again. All they do is destroy all the nutrients in your food anyways. It doesn’t take that much longer to heat something up on the stove top, or toaster oven. Plus, I feel better knowing that we are all eating more nutritious food in our home.

20121005-115957.jpg
The sauce is coming together nicely.

20121005-121836.jpg
Mixing everything together.

20121005-121040.jpg
A close up.

Yields: 2-4 servings

Ingredients:

• 1 Tbsp olive oil
• 1/2 onion, diced
• 2 garlic cloves, minced
• 1 Tbsp earth balance
• 1 Tbsp + 1 tsp all-
purpose flour
• 1 cup coconut milk
• 1/2 cup white wine
• 1 Tbsp lemon juice
• 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
• 1/8 tsp nutmeg
• salt and pepper to taste
• 2 handfuls of spinach
• 4 servings of cooked pasta of choice
• 12 meatless mushroom meatballs, lightly fried in some oil (optional, but highly recommended)*

Directions:

1. Sauté onion and garlic in oil for 5 minutes on medium-low in a medium sauce pan. Push onions to the sides of your pan.

2. Add vegan butter and milk to make a rue on the opposite side of the same pan. Once the butter is melted and combined with the flour, incorporate everything together.

3. Now, add the coconut milk, wine, lemon juice, nutritional yeast, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Bring the sauce to a low simmer. Continue simmering for about 10 minutes. It should begin to thicken slightly.

4. In a large mixing bowl, combine the spinach, pasta, mushroom meatballs and white-wine sauce. Then, toss until the pasta is completely coated.

I hope you make this Shelly and anyone else reading. It’s super delicious.

*I heated some of this up on the stove this morning. I decided to remake the sauce with everything in the pan, noodles, meatballs and spinach. When I did this, I upped the wine to 1 cup. I did have to make the onions, garlic and rue in another sauce pan. Then, I added everything together and let it simmer, while frequently stirring. It turned out fabulous. It was more like a stroganoff made this way. Just another possibility for this recipe.

20121005-122417.jpg

20121005-122526.jpg

Leave a Reply

