Meatless Mushroom Meatballs

5 Oct

20121004-085719.jpg

I’ve been feeling like making some spaghetti lately. I was sitting on my bed looking up recipes. My youngest daughter was happily watching Phinies and Ferb next to me. Guess what they were having….spaghetti and meatballs. I figured that was my cue to go downstairs and start cooking. Normally, I just make spaghetti with tvp, boca or vital wheat gluten sausages. Tonight, I thought I’d try to make my own meatless meatballs.

20121004-083537.jpg

20121004-090617.jpg
Somebody loves me!! I found this little note this morning, written by Ava in my recipe notebook. She’s so sweet.

Meatless Mushroom Meatballs

Yield: about 36 balls
Ingredients:

• 1 cup lentils, cooked
• 1/2 cup brown rice, cooked

• 1 Tbsp olive oil
• 2 cups mushrooms, cooked down to a little less then 1 cup
• 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

• 1 onion
• 2 garlic cloves

• 1 tsp chili powder
• 1/4 tsp chipotle powder
• 1 1/2 tsp oregano
• 1 tsp basil
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 1/4 tsp pepper
• 1 tsp molasses

• 1 Tbsp flax, ground
• 2 Tbsp water

• 1 cup breadcrumbs, or more

Directions:

1. Take your onion and garlic, then put it in your food processor. Pulse for 5-10 seconds.

2. Combine ground flax with water. Whisk and set aside.

3. Take your 2 cups of mushrooms and sauté them with oil for 5 minutes. Add balsamic vinegar and cook for 3 more minutes. Then add them to your food processor along with the onion, garlic mix. Process for 5 seconds. Pour into separate bowl and set aside.

4. Take the cooked lentils and rice, then add them to the food processor and pulse for about 5 seconds. Now, add all the spices and pulse until everything is combined.

5. Strain out the extra liquid from your onion, mushroom mixture. Then add the flax egg and mix well.

6. Add the lentil, rice and spice mix to the onion/mushrooms mix. Next add the breadcrumbs.

7. Form into cherry tomato size balls. Place on a greased pan. Bake in the oven @350 for 15 minutes. Then flip and cook for 15 minutes more.

Eat with your favorite spaghetti sauce and noodles.

* I didn’t squeeze out the extra liquid from the onion mushroom mix. I suggest that you do.They steamed up a lot in the oven. I ended up turning on the fan and opening my door to outside. We have very sensitive fire alarms in our hours. I hate when they go off while I’m cooking, just from the heat and steam.

20121004-090806.jpg
These meatballs have are very distinct mushroom flavor. I really like them. I think they would be a great addition to cream of mushroom soup.

Must eat with corn. Spaghetti just isn’t right without organic corn. I grew up eating if this way. I will never eat spaghetti without it. I never order spaghetti at Italian restaurants, because I know it will not be made with corn. If it was, it would probably be made with Gmo corn and that is gross.

Do you have an different ingredients that you like to add to spaghetti?

One Response to “Meatless Mushroom Meatballs”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bow tie Creamy Spinach Pasta « lesleyslovelylife - October 6, 2012

    […] salt and pepper to taste • 2 handfuls of spinach • 4 servings of cooked pasta of choice • 12 meatless mushroom meatballs(optional, but highly […]

Leave a Reply

