Raw Nut Meat Tacos

1 Oct

20120929-123231.jpg
I love cooking. I love baking. I love being in the kitchen, preparing food for those I love. I never imagined that so much of my time and energy would be tied up in food. Normally, when I have an idea of something to make, hours go by in preparation. I look online. I look on blogs. I read recipe books. I find a couple ideas of things that sound absolutely fabulous and turn them into my own. As I was looking on apartment therapy the other night, one click lead to another. I found myself on Christy Morgan’s blog and was inspired to make her lettuce wraps.
I’ve never actually made lettuce wraps before, but I knew these would be good. Luckily, I already had all the ingredients I needed.

I got busy cooking these up the very next morning. Actually, there is no cooking involved, haha! They are raw tacos, hence the name. Anyways, I dropped my girls off at school. Then I came home and soaked the nuts in water. I ended up using 1/2 cup peanuts, 1/2 cup cashews and 1 cup of walnuts.

20120929-125902.jpg
As they soaked for a little over two hours, I was busy doing my yoga. By the time I was ready for the day, fresh and clean, the nuts were ready for me to take to my ninja and pulse.

20120929-130454.jpg
Add all the spices. Pulse until it resembles course crumbs.

20120929-130601.jpg
Scrap down the sides as needed. Dump the raw nuts into a bowl and set aside. Clean out your food processor. Now for the slaw. My inspiration came from Jennifer Myong Un Ross. I grabbed 2 handfuls of spinach and put them into the ninja. I also added 2 carrots, scrubbed and chopped, to the ninja. All the spices were added next. Blend for about 5-10 seconds and set aside.

20120929-131213.jpg
Your now ready to put together the tacos. Feel free to garnish as you wish. I used diced tomatoes and chopped scallions. This dish came out so great. I know I’m going to be making it a whole lot.

Raw Nut Meat Tacos

Ingredients:

• 1 cup almonds, I used 1/2 cup almonds plus 1/2 peanuts instead
• 1 cup walnuts
• 1 Tbsp chili powder
• 1 Tbsp cumin
• 1 tsp coriander
• 1 garlic clove, minced
• dash cinnamon
• dash cayenne
• 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 1/4 pepper

Directions:

1. Soak nuts in water for 2 hours. Drain and put in ninja or food processor. Blend for 20-30 seconds.

2. Add all the spices to the nuts. Blend until your desired consistency is reached.

Spinach and Carrot Slaw:

Ingredients:

• 2 handfuls of spinach
• 2 carrots, roughly chopped
• 2 tsp balsamic vinegar
• 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
• 1 tsp oregano
• 1/2 tsp turmeric
• 1/2 tsp curry powder
• dash cayenne
• 1/4 tsp black pepper
• 1/4 tsp garlic powder

1. Put all the ingredients into your food processor. Blend for 5-10 seconds, or until your desired consistency is reached.

Now you can place the nut meat and slaw onto a leaf of romaine lettuce. Garnish with whatever your heart desires. Enjoy! I sure did.

20120929-231757.jpg

Leave a Reply

