Fajitas with Seitan nuggets

30 Sep

Seitan Nugget Fajitas

20120923-225004.jpg
Did I tell you how much I love Mexican cuisine. I swear I was Mexican in another life. I could eat tacos everyday. One thing I do love in my tacos that isn’t normal is corn. I grew up eating tacos this way. I love corn. I could eat it with everything. I mix it into spaghetti or any kind of pasta. Most meals don’t feel complete without a bit of sweetness and of course, corn!

I came across a couple different recipes for seitan nuggets. I decided to made my own version. It still needs some work. I am still cooking with the questionable product of my science project. Until its perfect, I won’t be posting it. Hopefully soon, all the kinks will be worked out. I do have to say though, cooking with vital wheat gluten is pretty amusing.

20120923-224255.jpg
Onions, garlic and peppers sautéing.

20120923-224716.jpg
Place fajita mix in tortilla with corn, spinach and salsa.

Seitan Nugget Fajitas

Ingredients:

• 2 tbsp olive oil
• 2 garlic cloves, minced
• 1 onion, diced
• 1 green pepper
• 1 red pepper
• 6 seitan nuggets, or meat substitute of choice
• 2 tsp chili powder
• 2 dashes chipotle Tabasco sauce
• 1 tsp cumin
• 1/4 tsp dill
• 1/2 tsp oregano
• 1 tsp agave
• 1 tsp lemon juice
• 1/3 cup water

Directions:

1. Cook meat substitute accordingly. Set aside.

2. Sauté onion, garlic and peppers in olive oil for about 5 minutes.

3. Add your meat substitute of choice. Then add all of the other ingredients. Cook for about 5 more minutes. Hopefully your meat substitute will soak up all the flavor from the spices.

4. Meanwhile, heat your tortillas, boil the corn and getting any other garnishes ready.

5. Scoop nugget fajita mix onto your tortilla. Garnish with salsa, corn and spinach.

Not your average fajita, but good!

20120923-224915.jpg
Wrap up and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

