Perfect Veggie Burger

20 Sep

20120918-230731.jpgLast week, I promised that I would post this recipe, for the Perfect Veggie Burger. This is the most delicious veggie pattie I’ve ever made. All the ingredients are 100% organic. I used a slice of pumpernickel bread, avocado, tomato, spinach and ketchup to garnish. I found the recipe for this veggie burger from Angela Liddon. She comes up with some really great recipes. She hasn’t failed me yet. I did make some changes though. I’m always reinventing recipes to make them my own. Plus, I didn’t have all of the ingredients she calls for.

20120919-081757.jpg
The patties that I didn’t cook, I placed on baking sheets and put in the freezer. Let them set up for an hour or so. Then, I wrapped them in wax paper and put them in a freezer bag. Next, I plopped them back into the freezer for another day.

20120919-083533.jpg
Garnishing my Burger.

Perfect veggie burger:

Ingredients:

• 1 onion, diced
• 2 large garlic clove, minced
• Flax eggs: 2.5 tbsp ground flax + 1/2 cup warm water, mixed in bowl
• 1 cup oats, processed into flour
• 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs….I processes pumpernickel and rosemary bread
• 1 cup grated carrots
• 1 cup can black beans, rinsed and mashed
• 2 Tbsp rosemary
• 1/3 cup walnuts, chopped & toasted
• 1/2 cup sunflower seeds toasted
• 1 tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
• 1 tbsp Braggs Liquid Amino Acids (soy sauce)
• 2 tsp chili powder
• 1 tsp cumin
•1 tsp oregano
• Kosher salt and black pepper, to taste

1. In a large skillet, sauté onions and garlic in 1/2 tbsp oil.

2. Mix your flax egg together in a small bowl and set aside.

3.Place all ingredients (except spices and salt) into a large mixing bowl and stir very well. Now, add seasonings and salt to taste. With slightly wet hands, shape dough into patties.

4. Fry the burgers in a bit of oil on a skillet over medium heat for about 5 minutes on each side. Garnish your burgers as you wish.

You will be so delighted, if you make these veggie burgers. My Mum, who is not vegan or vegetarian, absolutely loved them. Everyone else who I made these for, said they were the best veggie patties they’ve ever eaten. I couldn’t agree more! It’s been really great to have them on hand in my freezer, for those days when a burger sounds good. Plus, they are fast to make, when already in my freezer ready for me. In 10 minutes they are cooked and a couple more minutes later I’ve garnished them. I hope you go out and make them ASAP. You won’t be sorry!

Leave a Reply

