Pumpkin Seitan Chili

18 Sep

20120917-085127.jpg
I love chili. I have been wanting to make some sort of yam chili for a long time. I decided to make it with seitan, since I had some left over from the other day. This was my first try making it with seitan and pumpkin purée.

I struggled for some time about what to call this dish. Most people think yams are sweet potatoes and vice versa. I too use to be one of these people. I’d grown up learning the wrong thing. Going to the store to pick out what my mom called sweet potatoes. Orange flesh and orange inside was what I thought a sweet potato looked like. Nope. That’s a yam. It wasn’t until I was working at a grocery store as a cashier, that I finally learned the difference. It did take me a month or so to get the right name for each tuber ingrained in my head. I did a lot of research on the internet to further see why there is such a mix up between the two. Even if you look on Wikipedia, the sweet potato pictured, looks like a yam to me. It’s a little confusing, but I hope you now know or at least do a little research, to know the difference.

20120917-085247.jpg
Sauté the onion and garlic until they are slightly caramelized.

20120917-110752.jpg
Pulse the seitan in my ninja for 5-10 seconds.

20120917-085339.jpg
Add the spices and toast 2-3 min.

20120917-091850.jpg
Almost ready to eat. Yummy!

Pumpkin Seitan Chili

Yield: 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

• 1 large onion, diced
• 4 garlic cloves, minced
• 2 Tbsp olive oil
• 1 tsp chili powder
• 1 tsp paprika
• 1 tsp oregano
• 1 tsp cumin
• 1 tsp cinnamon
• 1/4 tsp cayenne
• 1 cup vegetable broth
• 1 yam, diced
• 1 1/2 cups seitan
• 1 can pumpkin pie purée*
• 1 can diced tomatoes*
• 1 can black beans*
• 1 can red kidney beans*
• 2 tsp agave
• 1 Tbsp lime juice

*all 15 oz cans. You can use dried beans but I didn’t have enough on hand or time to soak before I made this dish.

Directions:

1. Put your stock pot on the stove. Heat to med-high and add the oil. Add the onion and garlic and sauté until the onion is slightly browned. Stir frequently.

2. Meanwhile, put the seitan in your ninja or food processor for 5-10 pulses.

3. Add the 6 spices and toast for 2-3 min.

4. Add the seitan, pumpkin, tomatoes, vegetable broth and yam. Bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer and cover. Cook for 20-25 min.

5. Add the black beans, kidney beans, agave and lime juice. Stir and cook for about 3-5 more minutes, until the beans are heated throughout. Serve with chips and garnish with diced avocado.

20120917-100843.jpg
Next time I make this I’ll plan to have some guests over to enjoy it with me.

Leave a Reply

