Fabulous Bread Pudding and Strawberry Sauce

11 Sep

Did I mention how much I love bread pudding. I don’t mean fresh from the oven bread pudding. I mean, sitting in my fridge overnight, bread pudding. Something about it tastes a million times better. I love how some dishes seem to age, like a fine wine, overnight. This is definitely one of them.

I spotted about 12 strawberries in my fridge, that were about to expire. My daughter wanted pancakes. I wanted cinnamon bun bread pudding :)
I got busy making the pancakes. That was when my daughter Ava thought I should make strawberry sauce. She was in luck. I had just enough strawberries to pull it off.

20120911-184503.jpg

Strawberry Sauce

Ingredients:

• 1 cup water
• 1 cup raw cane sugar
• 2 cups strawberries, quartered

Direction:

Combine water and sugar in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir until sugar is dissolved. Then mix strawberries into saucepan and bring to a boil. Boil for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer until strawberries are mushy and sauce is thick. Takes about 10 minutes. Strain liquid into a bottle and refrigerate.

Now, I’m sure you probably noticed, I didn’t have 2 cups of strawberries, but no one was the wiser. You don’t have to strain the liquid either, if you don’t like. I never actually do.

20120911-184611.jpg

Leave a Reply

