Cauliflower Mash

11 Aug

20130810-234649.jpg

I was in L.A. last summer eating at “Veggie Grill” Somehow, I ended up trying their cauliflower mashed potatoes. I don’t normally eat cauliflower and i never had them mashed. Boy was I in Heaven. I sure have been missing out all these years. Anyways, I decided I would make some tonight. First attempt and I think they turned out Devine!

Adapted from detoxinista

Mashed Cauliflower
serves 4

Ingredients:

• 2 Medium-sized head of cauliflower, chopped into florets (about 3 lbs.)
• 1/2 cup heavy cream
• 6 roasted garlic cloves
• 2 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
• 2 fresh chives, chopped
• 1/8 tsp nutmeg
• salt and pepper, to taste

• 1/4 cup panko bread crumbs
• Parmesan cheese

Directions:

1. Fill a large stockpot with about an inch or two of water, and insert a steamer basket. Bring the water to a boil, and add the cauliflower. Reduce the heat to a simmer and cover. Steam the cauliflower for 6-8 minutes, or until fork tender.

2. Drain the steamed cauliflower, and transfer to the bowl of a large food processor. Next, add in the roasted garlic cloves and seasonings, and process to your desired texture.

3. Put into a baking dish and sprinkle with Panko and Parmesan. Broil until lightly browned on top.

20130810-234812.jpg
I made this tonight with creamed spinach and salmon. It was amazing. My friend told me that is topped her favorite dish from The Cheese Cake Factory. That made me smile. I do love to cook good food, for all the special people in my life. Don’t mind the cut in the creamed spinach. I dropped my iPhone on my plate, before I could even take a picture. Lol!!

20130811-023455.jpg

20130811-023518.jpg

Leave a comment